- - - - -

Question of the Week -- March 12, 2017

Good morning!
Welcome to the start of a new week. Daylight Saving Time has started...did you remember to set your clocks ahead an hour?

The other day I came across an old Quilters Newsletter Magazine with a quilt by Moneca Calvert on its cover. I had seen several other pieces by her in other magazines and admired them all. I hadn't seen anything by her in many, many years; so I did a quick search on the internet. I couldn't find a website for her, so I assume that she has retired from quilting and teaching. I've been quilting since 1981, and I can still recall some of the famous quilters from those early years...Georgia Bonesteel, Mary Ellen Hopkins, Caryl Bryer Fallert, Jean Ray Laury, Eleanor Burns, Katie Pasquini Masopust, Jean Wells and Yvonne Porcella are a few that came mind. Some of these women are still active in the quilting community and others have passed away.

This brings me to this week's questions for all of you...

How long have you been quilting? Who are some of the quilters you can recall when you think back to when you first started your quilting journey? Are they still active in the quilting world?

I hope you can take a moment to share your answers with us. Take care and have a wonderful week!

23 Comments

Oh my, can I even remember back that far.  I made my first quilt in 1967. One of my first quilting books was the Mountain Artisans Quilting Book.  I still have that book and have threatened many times to remake the quilt on the cover.  The color and folk art was fabulous.  The inside less inspiring, all black and white.  Besides the ones Jo Ann named, I remember Marti Mitchell and Jinny Beyer.  I know there were a lot more.  Interestingly, I did a search and there is very little specific information on the internet.  I guess the world didn't think much of what we were doing then.  I started machine quilting about 1999.  I learned on my Bernina 150 from Pam Clarke who lives in the area.