- - - - -

WIP Wednesday Post -- March 15, 2017

Good afternoon!
Sorry I wasn't able to post before I had to leave the house early this morning. It's Wednesday and time for our weekly WIP update. I've been busy getting Mom to and from appointments and finishing up a client's quilt that is getting a full custom treatment. I hope to be able to share photographs once I receive her permission.

Quilt-related or not, be sure to take a moment to share your projects with us.

19 Comments

Photo
Joy-in-Illinois
Mar 15 2017 07:20 PM

It's been a busy week. I finished the swoon quilt I had posted here a couple of weeks ago (and posted pics in Final Product) and have this one on the frame now. It's a charity fundraiser and they want a full custom treatment.  I'm planning a mix of freehand and computerized work on this. The big blank squares will get a computerized motif and the stars and the border will get a freehand treatment. I'm still learning how to use the Gallery on my A1, but I know I can do those big blocks easily enough. I'm finding the hard part is identifying a digital pattern to use. 

Attached Files

I've had a very busy week too.  Taught a longarm class today--neat student.  Retired guy, woodworker, figured he'd learn how to longarm so he could finish his wifes quilts :)   I kept telling the other student there were no quilt police and she could do whatever made her happy.  Gary,  I told him he had to do whatever made his wife happy LOL

Have a quilt basted on my machine--basted the whole thing a la Jean Schute.  1) it had pieced triangle borders and they were all too big and 2) double gauze backing--I'd heard another longarmer say it stretched just sitting on her frame (gravity pulling it down), so I wanted it all basted--and I'm rolling the whole thing back to the backing roller when I'm not quilting.  Told the client I wouldn't guarantee no puckers.